Baked With Love

One of my most cherished childhood memories is of my mother baking me a birthday cake each year. I can still vividly remember her in the kitchen creating the beautiful roses from icing that were placed upon my cake each year. It wasn’t just about the cake. It was about the time and care she took to show that I was special to her.

This is a tradition that I am trying to recreate with my two children. I hope that they will think back to when they sat on the kitchen counter and helped me pour, stir, and sample the ingredients that went into their birthday cakes over the years.

I am no Martha Stewart, but spending time with my children and loving them counts more than the finished product ever could. And no matter the outcome of the cake I always hear, “Oh Mommy! I LOVE it! You are the best Mommy ever!” What could ever be better than that? I am trying to bless them, but instead they bless me. I am the luckiest Mommy ever. God has blessed me immensely!

This post is linked to Works for Me Wednesday at We Are That Family.

About The Extreme Housewife

I am a young married homeschooling mother of two little ones. Being a mommy is the best job in the whole entire world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baked With Love

  1. Esther Irish says:

    These are amazing. Here I’m proud of my self for making a plain old round cake! 🙂

  2. Nichole says:

    Those are great cakes! I love to make homemade cakes for birthdays, but mine are always the plain variety.

  3. Katie says:

    Those are adorable cakes! I used to love the ice cream cone cakes…

  4. What a great tip! I love making my kiddo’s cakes. Love the castle cake you made!

    I hope you’ll stop by and visit over at Free 2 Be Frugal sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

